In 1974, Aswan branch was constructed as an affiliation to Assiut University. In October of the academic year 1973/1974, Study began in the faculty of education, the first bachelor was given in 1978 then started the enrollment in master degree in the faculty of science in the academic year 1977/1978 after that the enrollment in Ph.D. started in the academic year 1977/1978. In 1995 the presidential decree no. 23 of 1995 was issued to establish South Valley University and then Aswan branch was affiliated to it, new faculties were established (faculty of arts – faculty of social work – faculty of engineering).

    In 2012 Aswan University was constructed as a governmental university by the presidential decree no. 311 of 11th of June 2013. 15 faculties were included  (arts, education, science, social work, engineering, energy engineering, veterinary medicine, agriculture, nursing, languages and translation, medicine, fisheries technology, commerce, specific education, and archaeology). The university main campus is located in Sahary City, Airport Road. It occupies 400 acres in addition to the new headquarters in Aswan Al-Gadeda that occupies 98.5 acres. Aswan university includes 6 headquarters and 6 university dorms in Aswan City.


Related Links:

Mission and Vision


Organizational Structure 

 1,932 total views,  5 views today